Not what I meant to say…

January 10, 2011

I had planned on writing a post about the sudden realization that after a year of purchasing art I can officially be considered a “private collector”

Turns out I won the Stanley Huber Wood watercolor on Sunday.  And when I picked it up I was asked by the security guard, purely conversationally, if I was a dealer or if the piece was going into a private collection.

I said, “no, nothing like that…. I’m going to hang it on my wall and stare at it for hours.”

He smirked and told me that meant I was a “private collector.”

So I was totally going to just go on and on about that but then last night I watched this… THING on tv.

The Cape.

I have no CLUE how this became a show.  It’s… crazy.  I could see it being a FANTASTIC B movie or something that a low-level cable channel came up with … but NBC?

No one will green-light a Wonder Woman tv show but we’ve got this at the mid-season?  Really?

I’m sorry – I’m at a loss.

Now don’t get me wrong.  It’s entertaining and it’s goofy but it’s a totally take it or leave it proposition.  I do not find it “appointment tv’ at all.  But then again I’m not a standard tv viewer.

I want someone to explain this to me.  Someone needs to tell me what this show says about our current world view…. or something.

Because it’s kind of infesting my brain.

I will valiantly try to kill it with alcohol but who knows if I will succeed.  Until I regain higher brain functions all I can say is…

night

4 Responses to “Not what I meant to say…”

  1. Clara Says:

    Yay, you got the picture!!! I love it!

  2. Greg Says:

    Hi, I was interested in why you bid on the watercolor by Stanley Huber Wood? Had you heard of him before or did you just like the painting or were you just put up to it by your friend? It’s a very nice painting by the way.

    Greg

    • eruditeslacker Says:

      I actually spent almost an hour staring at it. I had no idea who he was but I was entranced by this painting. It really is beautiful in person.


Leave a Reply

