Of Conversations

January 25, 2011

Clara and I had a great winding, rambling conversation tonight.  It was all over the map.  We talked about movies (Eastern Promises and The Piano Tuner of Earthquakes) and television (Hawaii Five-O and Zen), horrible commercials (please no more car commercials) and online media players (what do you mean once I start it I can’t stop), old friends and family and car troubles and so many other things. It was exactly the kind of conversation I like to have.  Something that rambles and moves around a lot, but really covers the important stuff.  A conversation that requires a lot of thought and trust between the participants.

Clara and I talked about conversation styles the last time we saw each other.  She mentioned people who can not be interrupted even to be asked to clarify something.  To me that’s not a conversation, that’s monologue-ing.  Which is fine by me, as long as I know about it in advanced.

Another kind of person is one who only has one topic of conversation.  Always the same one and it’s usually a rant of some kind.  I have moments like this from time to time but I do try to stay positive once I get the vitriol out.  Sometimes it’s really hard work but I do try.

Personally I like a more eclectic, “give and take” conversational style.  And I’m perfectly willing to pick up and put down topics of conversation as necessary.

Which is why I enjoy conversations with Clara so much.

night

Leave a Reply

