it REALLY is the little things

February 23, 2011

I am listening to the voice of Roger Ebert while I’m typing this.

It’s his commentary track on Orson Welles’ classic Citizen Kane.  And I’m not saying that Citizen Kane isn’t enough of a wonder to enjoy on its own but to listen to Mr Ebert again… it just makes me so happy.  It’s that strong but ephemeral nostalgic feeling that makes you feel wrapped in a blanket just out of the dryer.

Because when you get right down to it.  When the day gets long … what pulls you through are the little things.

Today I was told that it was very nice that I remembered that I said I would give cupcakes to some folks even though I was drinking bourbon shots at a friends going away party when I made the statement.  Cupcakes can make people’s days… multiple days made by a single cupcake even.  Because cupcakes are cool like that.

Sometimes information and sharing it willingly is the little thing.  Like little pieces of advice and lessons learned.  So good to get information first hand from someone who did it the hard way first and wants you to have an easier time of it.  (Thank you Clara – I took your advice on how to post the rugs.)

Sometimes it’s a warm bed, or a fluffy cat (if you’re not allergic), or a friend willing to let you use their car, or… the list goes on.

There are so many amazing and wonderful things in life that you just have to let yourself see.

Well that’s what I think.

night

Leave a Reply

