I no longer drink at the neighborhood bar

March 3, 2011

Let’s face it.  I live in a college town.  Which means the neighborhood bars aren’t that great.  I mean I really like Henry’s at the Hotel Durant but it’s not somewhere you hang out and meet new people.  And a lot of the bars around here are dives and I REALLY don’t like dive bars.

I used to drink at Raleigh’s but I’m not much of a beer drinker these days so I don’t go there for recreation either.

Vintage Berkeley stepped up and now offers a lovely 5 for $5 wine tasting on Thursdays and I must admit that I have tried new and fantastic wines AND meet some really wonderful people.

Today I drank wine with a high level buyer from the Pentagon who is about to move to Paris with his wife, and a PhD student from Brazil who was there with her visiting scholar husband from Argentina (wonderful people, I hope to see both of them again), and best of all was an 8-year-old golden retriever named Gracie.

A little wine, a little conversation, some eclectic and charming company…  That’s how I like to spend an evening.

night

Leave a Reply

