I know I’m supposed to shop local but…

April 7, 2011

I tried to buy a specific book at three local book shops but I couldn’t.  It was released over a year ago and it was never carried in two of the three stores.  By the time I got to the last one, I didn’t even bother to ask.

I get that I am supposed to support the local economy and small stores but it’s not easy when you want something specific and they don’t have it.  Yes, I could order it from them and pay full catalog price while waiting for it to arrive at their store and then going and picking it up.  Or I could pop online and get it at a discount and have it delivered directly to me.

Does this make me a bad person?  Perhaps.

But really I just wanted this book.

I had it sent to my library via Link+ and I read it in a day.  It made me happy and it made me cry.  I need to own it.

I tried to buy local.  But sometimes that just doesn’t work.

night

Leave a Reply

