false flashback

April 11, 2011

I got Stage Fright from Netflix today.

Even though I’ve seen it before… even recently watched it streaming on Netflix.  I got the disc because I wanted to watch the special feature documentary.  It’s short but it’s good.

And it brought up a point I had never spent that much time thinking about.

SPOILER WARNING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The movie starts out with what might be the first ever “false flashback” and apparently Hitchcock got a lot of flack for it.  If you show an audience a flashback they are going to assume it’s true and base there assumptions from the “truth” they have seen.

I guess at this point I will go along with anything but I’m not surprised if something I was shown was fake, or true but not in the way I thought it was.

And that might all have started with Hitchcock.

I’m cool with that.

night

Leave a Reply

