I’ll take esoteric wines for $25, Alex

April 14, 2011

It’s Thursday so that means wine tastings.  5 for $5 at Vintage Berkeley to be specific.

The tasting was wonderful:

Tasting Lineup for this Thursday 4/14
2010 Edmunds St. John Bone Jolly Rose, El Dorado, $20
2009 Lini 910 Lambrusco Bianco, Italy, $16.50
2008 Chateau Hureau Saumur-Champigny, France, $16
2008 Corte alla Flora Sangiovese, Tuscany, $11
2007 Fort Ross Symposium Pinot Noir, Sonoma Coast, $22

Only instead of the Lini 910 Lambrusco we had a Bugey white sparking Montagnieu.  It was wonderful and I got a bottle to share with my stepmama.

Even though it’s a white sparking wine it’s made with a red grape.  And the lovely wine shop guy happens to be a huge fan of this esoteric wine.  In fact he told me that he plans on being the guy with the most of these Mondeus wines around.  He had two Mondeus Noirs in the shop and he wanted to tell me about them.

I listened and I got them both.

He was so proud of me.  It was rather sweet.  I have homework.  I am to drink at least one of the bottles before I see him again.  Preferably with something meaty like a nice roast chicken or a steak.

I’m going to cook up my new Prather Ranch steak and open up one of the bottles on Saturday or Sunday.

At least that’s the plan.

night

Leave a Reply

