What counts as a hobby?

May 14, 2011

At the auction today Ms. Johnson and I were discussing hobbies.  She roller skates – 4 on the floor thank you very much.  Sometimes she even does it in her kitchen.

She asked about my hobbies and I listed out sewing, cooking, reading… and she stopped me to ask, “is that really a hobby?”

Isn’t that an interesting question.  I know that reading isn’t a craft of anything like that but is it a hobby?  I’ve always thought a hobby was anything you purposefully use your leisure time to enjoy.  And by that definition watching TV is a hobby.  It doesn’t take skill or effort but it’s a hobby, at least by my definition.

When I got home I looked up the official definition of hobby.  Merriam-Webster has hobby defined as “a pursuit outside one’s regular occupation engaged in especially for relaxation“… so yeah TV watching, that’s a hobby just as much as stamp collecting.

And there is nothing wrong with that.  I just think you should actively make a choice to practice your hobby instead of just falling into it.

Except for the fact that a lot of times I fall into a new hobby and then actively decide to continue with it.

Hobbies… those nasty thieves of time and money that make life worth living.

night

Leave a Reply

