A non-required reading list

May 17, 2011

A number of friends that I have worked with and answered question for and generally just enjoyed the company of have graduated from college.

Part of me is sad because they are going to go off and have their grand adventures and I won’t get weekly updates.  And another part of me feels REALLY OLD.  And then there is the prevailing thought that hits whenever anyone graduates….. NO MORE REQUIRED READING.

Summer heralds the time of reading for pleasure… the summer after graduation is a particularly sweet summer of reading.

Here are my recommendations for non-required reading:

American Gods by Neil Gaiman – I love this book.  Some say that it doesn’t have enough description of the characters but I’ve always liked that.  This is a book that lives in my mind, not on the page.

War for the Oaks by Emma Bull – The late, great Rory Root put this book in my hand at the Other Change of Hobbit and told me that if I didn’t love it, he would buy it back from me.  I loved it.

Miss Pettigrew Lives for A  Day by Winifred Watson – A delightful book; you could call it romance, or chit lit, or any number of things.  I call it a sweet story that leaves me with a smile.

Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury – Mr Bradbury has been my favorite author for as long as I can remember.  I read every book of his on the library shelf when I was younger.  Classic doesn’t cover the impact of this book.  Eternal might work.

Black Glass by Karen Joy Fowler – particularly “The Faithful Companion at Forty”  I spent a couple of years reading some truly excellent short story collection.  While this isn’t my favorite collection it does have one of my favorite short stories of all time.

Dillinger in Hollywood by John Sayles – This whole collection is amazing.  It’s emotional and stark.  It makes you feel… whether you want to or not.

The Swiss Family Robinson by J.D. Wyss – High Adventure.  What every summer needs!

The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister – There’s still so much to learn.  And you don’t always get to pick where the classroom will be.

Happiness by Will Ferguson – a story about the self help book that ruined the world.  Because its not about the happiness, it’s about the pursuit.

The Rum Diary by Hunter S. Thompson – Hunter’s drunken romp of a book before the drugs really started to flow.  A snapshot of a time and a place that will never be again.  On the one hand it makes you want to drink, on the other it makes you want to stay sober for a long, LONG time.

Relic by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child – I remember the first time I read this.  Scared me to pieces.  But I LOVED it.  And now my Dad and Stepmom read the whole Pendergast series.

The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor – One of those magic moments where you randomly pick up a book in a bookstore and end up sinking so deep into the story that you can’t get out until the end.

Island of the Sequined Love Nun by Christopher Moore – yeah, I don’t have to say anything.  You’re going to click the link and look into it yourself.  Because it’s a book called ISLAND OF THE SEQUINED LOVE NUN and how are you not interested in that?

That’s just off the top of my head.  I’m sure I could come up with more amazing books to read.

But I’ll close with a couple of important reading hints and tips.

One – ALWAYS have a local library card.  Two – if your library participates in LINK+ then use it to get books transferred to you from other libraries.  Three – you can use Amazon to create a private wish list to keep track of all the books you want to read.

Remember reading is fundamental.

night

One Response to “A non-required reading list”

  1. clara Says:

    Thank you for the recs!

    The local library is closed for renovation. There will be a “book van” coming by at regular intervals. *clings*


Leave a Reply

