Is this what the end of the world looks like?

May 21, 2011

So I started the day by going to the Underground Farmers Market in San Francisco.  There was a line because they had to check to make sure that everyone was a member for legal purposes.

But I got in quickly and since it was so early it was not crowded at all.  I had some kombucha but I didn’t want to carry it around all day so I didn’t buy a bottle.

The first thing I bought was a bottle of Tenderloin Honey from Bay Area Bee Company.

Then I got a cup of the best coffee I have ever had at Wrecking Ball Coffee Roasters.  It was so good I didn’t need cream or sugar.

Then I wandered upstairs and got a jar of Wonderberry Jam…

That was some of the most amazing jam I’ve ever tried.  All kind of berries with a little creme de cacao.

Emmy makes pickles and really anyone who loves bread and butter pickles can’t be all bad.  So I got a jar of those.

Downstairs I picked up some beautiful pickles, lovely jam and a truly exceptional spiced caramel apple butter from Urban Preserves.

And finally I grabbed a box of whole wheat durum orecchiette from Baia Pasta.  I’m going to use these fantastic little ears to make the best macaroni and cheese I can possibly make.  Because this pasta deserves the best.

After the market I got back on BART and went to Dashe Cellars Urban Luau.

When I was in line I looked at the pig and thanked him for his sacrifice.  The cooks liked that I bothered to address the pig and gave me an extra portion of meat.

Noble creature.  And he tasted amazing!

Then the world didn’t end.  But while I was catching up with Renee we did experience a 3.6 earthquake about 8 miles north-east of Berkeley.

So really – you could call it either way.

But for now I’m tuckered out and going to bed.

It was a long day at the end of the world.

night

Leave a Reply

