what I learned today

June 16, 2011

I don’t eat duck.  I’ve never had it prepared in a way that I enjoyed and there are always things I’d rather eat.

But today I learned how to do it right if I’m going to do it at all.

Season your duck breast with salt, pepper, thyme… do this the night before and let the flavors sink in.

Take a cast iron skillet and put it on a burner set to the lowest possible setting.  Put the duck breast skin side down and allow the fat to slowly render out until the skin goes crispy.  Then turn the breast over, turn up the heat and cook the other side.

Finish in the oven.

Let rest, slice, eat.

That’s what I learned today.

Thanks Matt!

night

Leave a Reply

