I seem to skew old in the pop culture reference category

August 5, 2011

This week I noticed that I skew a little on the old side when it comes to pop culture.

I’m probably 10 to 15 years younger than my co-workers but you would never think it to listen to us talk.

When Jim can’t remember a band’s name, I can.  My favorite band of all time is Pink Floyd.  Favorite album … Dark Side of the Moon.  (It is after all my first EP ever.  My brother gave me a used copy when he gave me his old stereo after getting a new one for himself on long ago Christmas.)  But my favorite song is Wish You Were Here.

I can name all the Beatles with their last names even.  And I’m perfectly capable of discussing at length the spaghetti westerns of Sergio Leone or Orson Welles’ entire oeuvre.  Want to discuss the impact of Ray Bradbury on fiction… yeah I can talk about that.

I’ve never actually thought about it before but my pop culture base is much older than my age.  It’s exacerbated by my grounding in classical music, opera and art history.  Thanks Mom!

Thank goodness I have found my people.  And the ones who think I’m strange, love me for it.

life is good

night

Leave a Reply

