The Genius of the Good Life

August 10, 2011

When I was little, my mom and I used to watch The Good Life from the BBC on PBS.

We LOVED it.  Mom even bought me the series on VHS when it became available.

And now Giles and Sue of Supersizers Go fame

have decided to do a reality tv version of the sitcom about the 70’s self-sufficiency movement.  And may I just say that it’s HYSTERICAL!

I don’t remember the last time I just giggled for minutes on end.  Maybe part of it is caused by the fact that I grew up in a household that was fully entrenched in the Back to Earth movement.  We had a lovely vegetable garden in the backyard.  I even got to grow my own squash.  Pumpkin was my specialty.

Mom baked out bread and made yogurt.  Dad brewed beer.

So the Good Life wasn’t so out of line with my reality.  But now… later in life… I can see how it’s really different from other people’s reality.

But truly, any way you slice it… Giles and Sue Live the Good Life is a work of GENIUS!

night

Leave a Reply

