Help me understand… jumpsuits

August 13, 2011

While I was out and about shopping today, I saw a few sales people in jumpsuits.  They worked their outfits hard and each person was rocking the look as fiercely as possible with some truly great accessories.

But at the end of the day it’s still a jumpsuit.  Why would anyone willfully choose to wear one?  And seriously… how do you pee?

I remember this in the 80’s and before that the leather catsuits of the 70’s.  The fashion industry keep trotting out this look.  And I can not for the life of me figure out why.  What exactly is the point?  Why does the single piece pant ensemble inspire such design devotion?

I’m not putting a picture in this post.  I refuse.

I’m taking a stand against the jumpsuit until someone can change my mind.

Give it your best shot.

night

One Response to “Help me understand… jumpsuits”

  1. clara Says:

    I had jumpsuits in the early 80s. All I remember about them was the huge struggle to keep them off restroom floors. Yuck.

    One thing appealing about jumpsuits back then, which is now irrelevant: when they appeared in the late 70s/early 80s, it was a time when you ALWAYS tucked in your shirt. Tucking in shirts is tiresome. Jumpsuits were a way to wear pants and a shirt that did not require tucking. Bodysuits appeared at the same time, for the same reason, and they created similar “going to the bathroom” issues.


Leave a Reply

