Oh WHY did it have to be OPENING Night?

August 17, 2011

The other day I decided that yes I DO want to see the San Francisco Opera’s current version of Turandot.

I did talk to MaryEllen before hand to determine which of the two casts I should go see.  And she assured me that I should see the September / October cast since they were the stronger cast.

So I went to the SF Opera website and looked at the dates.  There were not as many as I was expecting.  I guess I thought it would be like a Broadway play where it plays every day with two or three matinees in a week but that was not the case.  So I immediately dismissed the weekday shows except for Fridays.  And no night-time Sunday shows.  Then I looked at the available tickets.

And it turned out that there was a ticket in the Balcony – one row behind the FRONT BALCONY section in the absolute center.  It’s the perfect ticket.  So I bought it.

When I saw MaryEllen today I told her that I got my ticket.  And that it’s for Friday the 9th.

And she said to me…

“Oh you’re going opening night?  That’s when I’m going.  Maybe we will see each other.”

Oh

HELL!

I got a ticket to opening night at the San Francisco Opera.

What am I going to wear?

night

Leave a Reply

