Guilt on the Sidewalk

August 24, 2011

I found a 5 dollar bill on the sidewalk today.  It was in front of an auto dealership.

I looked around but I didn’t see anyone.  Even so, I still felt a little guilty taking the money.  And I really don’t know why.

Last time I found money on the sidewalk I immediately saw who dropped it.  So I picked it up, tapped the man on the shoulder and gave it back to him.

It’s only right.  Finders Keepers gets you some nasty karma.

That being said… finding money and not having someone to return it to shouldn’t make me feel uncomfortable.

I remember going yarn shopping with my mom and she said something while we were crossing the parking lot about never finding money on the street.  I looked down, picked up a quarter and handed it to her.

Once when I was really broke I found $30 in front of a bus stop.  I actually stood there with the money in my hand looking around to see who dropped it and finally someone noticed and said… you found it, it’s yours.

I don’t understand what it all means.  Most likely it doesn’t mean anything.

Maybe it’s a reminder to be worthy of pennies from heaven.

It’s an idea at least.

night

Leave a Reply

