bit not good

August 31, 2011

I was wandering around the building this afternoon and I watched Marcia carry some long pieces of wood out of her office.

I was bored and very intrigued… so I went to investigate.

Turns out it wasn’t actually wood.  It was fiber-board and not even good quality fiber-board.  These beautiful, real wood overhead cabinets had been held up by fiber-board that gave way during the night.

Let’s all have a moment to thank whatever deity you believe in that it happened at night and not when Marcia was at her desk, since the whole thing came sliding down the wall, complete with 100 lbs of cabinet and however may pounds of binders and books.

Gouged the desk but that’s pretty much all.

Now let’s have a little moment of serious, shall we?

I live in earthquake country.  Things need to be secure.  This could all end very badly.

And yes I’m very well aware of the hypocritical nature of that comment given the fact that my apartment is a landmine.

But do as I say and not as I do.  Bolt things down and be ready for the next earthquake.

just saying

night

Leave a Reply

