Prom for Adults

September 10, 2011

I have never in my life seen so many diamonds and sequins in one place.  There was more silk than in Britex Fabrics.  There must have been many trips to the family safe / safe deposit boxes because the rocks were out in force.

Truly – opening night at the opera IS Prom for grown ups.

And I don’t mean just in the boxes and the orchestra.  All the way up to the cheapest of the seats there were people in full on capital letter GOWNS and white tie… a sea of white tie and the men who know how to wear it.

I spent ever intermission wandering around looking at people who were very comfortable in their extreme formal wear and people who were obviously new to the white tie, white vest, cuff link experience.

May I just take this moment to tell you how amazing the SF Opera House is and how many BATHROOMS there are?  And mirrors everywhere so you can make sure you look your best because apparently opera glasses have been replaced by cameras.  Everyone was taking pictures and I can’t blame them.  The Opera was perfect and the people were just icing on the cake.

At this point I’m just going to give you a link to the SFGate article and slide show of pictures from the event because you have GOT to see this fabulous insanity.  I loved everything I saw even if I had no idea who most of these people are and I’m not sure I’m even supposed to know.  Although in the 2nd intermission I did see the lovely Donna Sachet and my first thought was she’s even lovelier than in her pictures … followed closely by this thought, did her gown, purse and shoes really need to match exactly?  I’m blaming Tom and Lorenzo for that second thought.

Red was definitely the color of choice for gowns.  And there were a LOT of people who were insanely comfortable in close that would be out of place in 95% of the countries closet.  I’m not totally sure how I feel about that.  But everyone was insanely polite and I liked that.

I’m spending all this time talking about the pomp and circumstance because when it comes to Turandot all I can say is … it was perfect.  Oh and LEAH CROCETTO is my new favorite opera singer and I can’t wait to see her perform again… maybe buy a cd when she makes one.  That girl gives good death scene.

I am seriously considering getting another ticket and going again.  I might see the same cast or I might see the second cast.  Because comparing and contrasting is a good idea.

Oh and the excellence of this performance pretty much guarantees that I will be getting a ticket for Magic Flute in the summer.

night

Leave a Reply

