So that’s why everyone hates Ticketmaster

September 15, 2011

I am not a big fan of arena music performances.  So I have not in the last decade or so, purchased any tickets via Ticketmaster.  Most events I buy ticket for have their own sites and I don’t end up paying some insane handling fee  and/ or service charge.

The San Francisco Opera doesn’t charge some insane fee on top of ticket price.  There’s a $2 surcharge at Cal Performances these days for the roof repair.

But today I purchased a ticket to see Amanda Palmer and Neil Gaiman at the Palace of Fine Arts and the service fees / charges were an additional 45% of the original ticket price.

Seriously?

Where did that money go?  What did I just pay for?

Never before did understand why people hate Ticketmaster until now.  Now I get it.

Knowing what I know now means that I will be very, very weary of buying another ticket from Ticketmaster.  I’ll have to determine if it’s really worth it.

This time I think it is but next time… I’m not so sure.

night

Leave a Reply

