bandages should only be used for tiny cuts

September 23, 2011

I couldn’t figure it out.  I needed Clara to help me work my way around the issue until finally she hit the nail on the head.

I just don’t like cosmetic fixes for issues that go beyond the surface.

It’s my opinion (and I do recognize that mine is not the only one) that you shouldn’t paint over dirty walls.  You should clean the walls,  fill in the holes with spackle, prime and then paint.  It lasts longer and gives you less problems in the long run.

Sometimes all you can do is cosmetically fix a problem.  It’s the easiest and simplest way to fix something that will be addressed at a later date… preferably not that much later.  Sometimes all you can do is stick on a bandage and hope that you can limp along until a greater fix can be organized and paid for.

But I get an uncomfortable knot in my stomach at the idea that no one is acknowledging that it’s just a surface fix and doesn’t address the broader issues or the other, possibly more hidden, variables involved in the over-all project.

Pretending things don’t exist or not thinking about how they play into the greater picture is something that is easy to do.  It’s very hard to make a stand against a tide of apathy.

But if you don’t have the time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?

In this day and age, there seems to be a trend to ignore best practices because there isn’t enough time, people, and / or money.

I don’t know if I can sit on my hands and keep my mouth shut while people ignore the decisions they are making by taking the easy way out.

I’m all for bandages but really, only for little scrapes and cuts.  Sometimes you need staples and sometimes you need stitches.  There is a big difference between the medicine cabinet and the emergency room.

Am I making a mountain out of a mole hill?  Some may say yes.  But I can’t help but feel that if you don’t stand for quality then you fall into a trap of apathy and it’s so very hard to get out.

There’s a quote from Aeon Flux that I’ve always liked.  “Clean gloves hide dirty hands.”  And that’s true.  But it doesn’t change the fact that beneath those gloves…. you’ve got dirty hands.

But when it means that a project will take more time and be more costly… how do you get people to agree to the more difficult path?

All I can do is raise the issue.  I only have my voice.  But once I have my say, I’m going to have to make peace with the decision that is made.

I’m just glad I know a little more about myself now than I did this morning.

night

Leave a Reply

