Explain to me why I would do that?

October 1, 2011

I get the concept of haggling and as I have mentioned here before… I’m bad at it.

I’m a little better about setting a price that I’m willing to pay and walking away if it’s too rich for my blood.  But openly haggling with a priced object… I’m still not really willing to do that.

But I need to figure out how to deal with people who want to haggle with me.

See I have some vintage things listed at Etsy and I feel that I’ve been pretty good about how I’ve labeled them and the prices I’ve come up with feel very reasonable to me.  And it’s not like I have to sell everything right away.  I can wait.  Heck – I’ve had the stuff for a good long while so what’s a little more time.

Other people seem to think that my prices are just suggestions and that there is nothing wrong with expecting me to take at least 30% off the price.

Ummm yeah, how about no.  Thanks for stopping by.

It’s ballsy in my opinion.  And I’m not necessarily against it but I’m not sure how I’m supposed to respond.  The emails I get just expect me to say yes.  Take these pictures, given me this information, tell me how much shipping to Paraguay is and oh I only want to pay a fraction of your listing price.  Email me with the details.

How about thanks for looking but I am asking the price that’s listed, if that’s not to your liking then thank you for looking.  Move along because there is nothing to see here.

Maybe it’s because it doesn’t really feel like haggling when you do it over email.  It feels like low balling.  You don’t know how to read the situation.  There really isn’t an easy way to have a give and take conversation.  And honestly I don’t want to try.

Maybe it’s just me.  It could just be me.  I’m okay with that… at least for now.

night

2 Responses to “Explain to me why I would do that?”

  1. Clara Says:

    After selling a couple of items on craigslist, I resolved never to engage in “email haggling.” You can spend a huge amount of time on it, with no result. The more time someone wasted with email haggling, the less likely it was that they would ever show up and buy the item. I spent two weeks on email haggling with someone, and when I agreed to their price, they disappeared. Pointless.

  2. Greg Says:

    Haggling is the nature of the beast….especially these days. Just price things up a bit so that you leave some haggle room and then make a counter-offer somewhere in the middle and presto. Or just tell them nicely that the price is the price and take it or leave it.


Leave a Reply

