Please show your work

October 6, 2011

I was reading the book, Deluxe: How Luxury Lost Its Luster by Dana Thomas because I had heard good things about it and it seemed interesting.  After all, I once worked for DHS and lived through the wonder that is LVMH.

And don’t both of those sound like vaccines and or diseases.

I am interested in luxury goods in terms of true luxury not mass market label luxury for the masses.  Sadly it’s going away so quickly that there isn’t much of it left.  Long ago I realized that I didn’t want to wear a logo if someone wasn’t paying me too… and even then I would have serious issues.

Like I said, I was interested in reading this book.  Then on page 29 of the hardback copy I got from the library I read a statistic that had no data to back it up.  To paraphrase – in the 1950 two hundred thousand women bought haute couture, now it’s only 200 women in the world.

I’m sorry – where did you get that number?  What sources are you using?  What does haute couture mean in that statement and what does buying haute couture mean?  A full wardrobe?  A single dress?

It’s a great sound bite.  But is it science?

I think not.

I returned the book after the third chapter.  I just couldn’t get past the data issue.  Yes – I am that much of a geek.

night

One Response to “Please show your work”

  1. clara Says:

    “To paraphrase – in the 1950 two hundred thousand women bought haute couture, now it’s only 200 women in the world.”

    Eh? When couture designers introduced “ready to wear,” the number of people buying couture clothing didn’t decline, it shot up. Though I suppose it could be argued it wasn’t “haute.”


Leave a Reply

