Notes on the variations of airports

October 7, 2011

I honestly don’t remember the last time I flew out of SFO.  It must have been long ago when I was a child coming back from visiting my grandparents in Oregon.

Generally speaking I fly out of OAK.  So when I took BART directly to SFO this morning I was wondering what would be different and what would be the same.

Top of the list is the fact that OAK just has blanket free wi-fi.  SFO’s is a little too gimicy…. I wasn’t willing to sign up for anything or do anything extra just so that I could post this from the airport.  Thanks but I’ll wait and not give away my first born child to American Express.

I find this trivial thing to be hysterical since I seem to remember reading about Gavin Newsom trying to get free wi-fi available throughout San Francisco.  Guess that didn’t exactly work out.

Another thing is that there are a LOT more people here.  The lines move fast but man alive are there more bodies in those lines.

Maybe it’s just me but airport security was very, very nice.  I have good luck with that kind of thing though.  So I’m not sure why I thought it might be different.

A big difference is that there isn’t a Starbucks at every turn here at SFO.  A chocolate shop / kiosk yes but Starbucks, no.  I found a Peet’s but by that time I wanted a soda and was thrilled that at the end of one of the spider legs of the terminal there was a Burger King.  A fountain drink is bigger and cheaper than a bottle of water.  That was not a surprise.

Chairs are the same, views are the same.  Waiting is always the same.

In the end I guess airports are really all the same.  Just places to pass time between places.

That’s as deep as I can get right now, so I’ll sign off.

night

Leave a Reply

