Actively being a person you like.

October 22, 2011

Today was an interesting day of being a good person… being the kind of person that you actually like being.

It started with a fantastic conversation with Megan this morning all about being aware of what you are doing and attempting to map out where you are going.  Taking the time to think about the things you say to your friends and the things you are doing with your own life?  Yup, that’s the kind of person I want to be.

Then getting on the bus going to Emeryville, the bus driver thought the Clipper reader was set to local but it had reverted to transbay.  The driver couldn’t find a card to give me to request a refund from AC Transit… so she gave me a $5 bill to cover the extra charge…. well to cover the charge and $2.90 more because she didn’t have change.  I held that bill all the way to my destination and then I handed it back.  It meant so much to me that she wanted to make it right for me in that moment but really it had nothing to do with money for me.  I can get Clipper to fix the charge.  Giving me the money felt right for the driver, giving it back felt right for me.  Win / Win really.

And finally I managed to go to The Lounge Nail Spa on 4th Street to use my Groupon.  While there I noticed a group of 4 women getting manicures and pedicures.  And when they left they tipped $20 for all $4 of them.  It was barely 10% of the cheapest services.  I was kind of appalled.  At the same time I wondered if they thought that because I had a G that I wouldn’t tip them or I’d tip them badly.  The service was amazing.  The best manicure / pedicure I’ve ever had.  I tipped them appropriately.  Maybe a little more because really… $5 each?  For an hour or more of service?  You don’t do that.  Well I don’t at least.

All in all… I am very proud of myself.  I behaved like the person that I want to be.  Which means that maybe… just maybe… I am the person I want to be.

And how cool is that?

night

Leave a Reply

