no no no followed by why why why

October 26, 2011

Do we really need to remake every single foreign film for the American audience?  And if we do, can I not know about it?

Like The Tourist… a fun piece of fluff that I actually enjoyed but was a remake of the French film Anthony Zimmer.  The films are very VERY different in look, in feel, in tempo… everything.  Just the basic plot structure is the same.  That being said – I like both films but I wish I didn’t have them linked in my head.

Or the truly brilliant Swedish film Let the Right One In being remade as Let Me In.  Doesn’t matter how good it was or wasn’t… was it necessary?

The truly despised Point of No Return that was pillaged from Luc Besson’s La Femme Nikita is another example of this horrible phenomenon.

And they keep doing it.

Now I find out that the Parkour Action film District B13 is being remade in America.  This movie was so action packed that honestly it could have been a silent film and it still would have been awesome.  So what if the same director is attached and Luc Besson, who wrote the original, is writing this new version?  Do we really need to make a new one?  Can’t we just watch the original again?

I am not okay with this.  In fact I am upset.

Argh!!!

goodnight

Leave a Reply

