Emotional issues with statuary

November 5, 2011

So I was in the lobby of the Palace of Fine Arts waiting for the Neil Gaiman / Amanda Palmer festivities to begin and I was staring at the statues they had on display.

This couple came up to me while I was staring at this one and asked if I didn’t like it.  (Apparently I had a look on my face.)

It wasn’t that I didn’t like it.  It’s lovely.  But it’s a bit of a pastiche in my opinion.  It’s not quite Greek, or Roman or Etruscan.  A product of its time but meant to show an older sensibility.

And for some reason that bothered me.  I couldn’t let it go.  I couldn’t just appreciate the statue as art, I had to classify and categorize it.

It’s pretty but it is also exactly what it is.  A product of the Panama-Pacific International Exposition.

On the plus side, it did lead to a great conversation with those nice kids from Oakland.  So that was a bonus.

night.

Leave a Reply

