Remembering Ray Bradbury for Neil Gaiman

November 5, 2011

I went to an Evening with Neil and Amanda tonight… or last night depending on how you count time.

It was lovely.  I suffered from that desire not to go based on time on public transit and getting there and getting back.  The Palace of Fine Arts is not the easiest place to get to without a car.  But I persevered and I am glad that I did.

Miss Amanda Palmer is an AMAZING performer and seeing her live was a treat.  But Neil… Neil was who I went to see and he did not disappoint.  Especially after Amanda’s powerful performance of Half Jack, when he came out and said… I can’t follow that with fluff.  And he read a new-ish piece about an author that is going to be in a book that will come out for the author’s 91st birthday.

And it was about forgetting Ray Bradbury.  And it made me cry.  Tears down my face, listening to the low-level but ever-growing horror of forgetting words and maybe even ideas and thinking but I must remember this.  What if I am the only one that remembers this and if I forget then it’s gone?  Finally trying to make a deal with God.  It’s okay if everyone forgets me but someone must remember him.

I wanted to tell Neil that it was okay.  That I could remember that “The men of Earth came to Mars.  They came because they were afraid or unafraid.”  And I could remember that grandma’s eyes were the color of my favorite aggies.  I could remember that and still have space for Serpentine and the Seven Sisters.  And Low Key Lyesmith and the real origin of Easter.

He doesn’t have to worry about it.  I can remember now.  It’s okay for him to forget.

I wanted to tell him.  But really.  He doesn’t need to know.

I can just tell you.

night

Leave a Reply

