To FSA or not to FSA

November 17, 2011

Open Enrollment…. the time where you question EVERYTHING for no good reason.

I’m kind of set with all my benefit stuff but I have been thinking about the Flexible Spending Plan.  I have thought about it on and off for a long time but I’ve never signed up.

So tonight I took all the information and I read it and I thought…. that sounds like a good idea.  I could pay for some dental stuff or new prescription sunglasses.

Genius right?

Well, not so much.  See I did the math on the pre-tax savings and I really didn’t save that much money.  Maybe $15 a month max.  So why bother?

I’m sure that if I made a different amount of money, if I was in a different place in the tax brackets then the FSA would be a boon.  But it’s not… so that’s one less thing for me to worry about.

Hooray!

Night

One Response to “To FSA or not to FSA”

  1. jzgplj Says:

    I use mine, I pay for my prescriptions with it…anything that lowers my taxable income, I’m all for it. Although I must confess it took me years to sign up for it too 🙂


Leave a Reply

