Sorry but you are asking for too much information

November 23, 2011

I know, it’s crazy.  I have a Facebook account that I never use and I blog almost every day.  But I am not going to give you a bunch of identifiers over the phone for your survey.

I get why they ask.  I understand the need for those identifiers for survey results to be useful, for the statistics to really show a complete picture.  But I don’t know the company / companies involved.  I don’t know how good your computer security is or if you are in fact just collecting information so you can steal my identity.

Yes, I’m paranoid.  I’m not understanding why that’s a problem.

It’s only gotten worse with HIPAA and FERPA.  Now I can actually detail out in my head the list of things that can be used to identify someone.

And I know my information is already out there.  I totally get that.  But that doesn’t mean I need to be adding fuel to the fire.

Yeah – rant over… for now.

night

Leave a Reply

