I would have known this if I were paying attention

November 28, 2011

The end of the year is coming.  And with it the expiration or seeming expiration of various software that I use.

Updating the computer security software is an absolute necessity.  Latest version always, always, always.  Luckily I caught mine on a good sale day.  So that’s taken care of with minimum fuss.

But the one that’s been bugging me is the money management software.  That stuff isn’t cheap.  And I don’t even use all the features so I don’t really want to upgrade but I also don’t want to lose the functions that I use now.  Given the constant pop up messages I get when I open the software it seems like I have to upgrade.

Sale?  What sale?  That stuff starts expensive and stays expensive.  And yes I know I could use a free system for the basics but in reality I LIKE mine.  It’s handy.  I like the reporting functionality.  Reports are vital to strong metrics.  Yes I am that much of a geek.

Today I decided I wanted to find out what happens if I don’t upgrade.  If I just keep last year’s software.  And you know what?  Nothing.  For 2 more years I’m safe.  Three years after release THEN the software stops being supported and loses a lot of functionality.

Hooray!  I don’t have to buy the software for 2 more years!

I love learning things like that, don’t you?

night

Leave a Reply

