The lure of the watch

November 30, 2011

After a decade of not wearing a watch, I started looking at watches again with an eye to buying one.

What on Earth am I thinking?

I stopped wearing a watch on purpose.  I needed to break my insane need to know what time it was every single second of the day.

What has suddenly changed in my life that I’m willing to open myself up to this obsessive wrist checking again?

Honestly, I don’t know.  I’m not really sure I want to inflict that on myself again.  Because there is the chance that I will become that time obsessed person again.

Or maybe I’m older and wiser now and time can be a companion and not an enemy to be constantly fighting.

The watch I picked out over the weekend is no longer available.  And I’m going to take that as a sign that it’s not time.  But that’s not to say the time is not coming.

I’m sure some day soon I will buy a watch.  And wear it.  But hopefully not rely on it to the point that if I do not putting it on one day I will return home to get it.  Because I do not want to go back to being that person.

That’s not to say that I wouldn’t like to know what time it is without scrambling for my cell phone all the time.

There has to be middle ground, right?

night

One Response to “The lure of the watch”

  1. jzgplj Says:

    I quit wearing a watch years ago… If ya need to know the time, there’s always the phone 🙂


Leave a Reply

