Is it the book or the translation?

December 8, 2011

I really want to have a long conversation about this with Leslie.  She’s getting a PhD in Italian and I think her focus is on Italian literature which means she would understand my question.

See I used Link+ to get a copy of one of the first Inspector Maigret novels by George Simenon from the library.

I fully expected to love it because I have really enjoyed the character in the Maigret tv series starring Michael Gambon.

But I didn’t.  I just couldn’t get into the book.

I’m not sure that it was the story or the writing.  I think it might have been the translation.

The books were originally written in French and I’m not sure who handled the translation on the book I read but it wasn’t very grammatically sound.

Maybe it was a perfect / verbatim translation but it just didn’t sound right in my head and that ruined the whole experience.

Before I return the book I’m going to see who did the translation and try to get another book with a different translator and see if I like it better.

But I could be the book.  It could be that I like the show but not the original stories.  It’s possible.

It’s just something I haven’t really thought of before.

This is why I want to talk to Leslie about it.  She would have something to say about this.  I’m sure of it.

night

Leave a Reply

