Fiasco and the Z Channel

December 13, 2011

I’ve been dealing with my fun and exciting software issues for the last 24 hours.  Which means that when I came home from work I turned on my Pandora via my television and read a book.

The book I currently have from the library is Fiasco: A History of Hollywood’s Iconic Flops by James Robert Parish.  I find the book kind of fascinating because I’m always intrigued by what makes some movies work fiscally and what makes movies fail dismally.

My one issue with the book is that the author seems to have a very deep seated but never really address issue with Hollywood / power structures / stars / famous people.  It make me question some of the opinions.  Are some of them just sour grapes?  But all in all I’m enjoying the book.

At the same time I got Z Channel: A Magnificent Obsession from Netflix so I’m watching that.  And again it’s a view of Hollywood from outside the box.  A question is posed over and over in the film.  Is a film really bad or has it been misunderstood or edited badly… etc.

It’s two sides of a coin.  Or rather it’s two sides of a screen.  Those in behind the screen creating the moving pictures and those who watch what happens on the screen.

I’m learning that really its about matching the right group in front and behind the screen.

You just have to remember that there is something for everyone.

night

Leave a Reply

