I’ve seen this before… I think.

December 21, 2011

Today my co-worker told me that the Peruvian air traffic controllers were going on strike.  They plan to strike from December 22 to December 25.  Excellent timing, don’t you think?

My first thought was that this is horrible news for him.  He’s flying home for three weeks into the middle of an air traffic controller strike.

My second thought was that I had heard all of this before.  Then it hit me… Reagan fired all the air traffic controllers in 1981 when they went on strike.  Sadly I only remember this because of Berkeley Breathed.

I have the image floating in my mind of a comic strip he did where Santa hired ex – air traffic controllers as elves or Reagan hired elves to fill the air traffic controller positions.  I can’t remember which.  It was 30 years ago.  I think I’m allowed to let go of these little details.

Somehow I don’t think elves are going to fix the Peruvian issue.  My co-worker thinks that everyone who strikes is going to hell because they are messing up the religious holiday for the whole country.

I’m not sure I agree with that.  But I really hope it doesn’t destroy his ability to get home to spend the holiday with his mom.

night

Leave a Reply

