another failed experiment

December 28, 2011

On the 19th of December I noticed that my finger nails were fraying.  I figured it would be a good idea to get a very simple manicure to protect my nails a little bit.  Since I am horrid at painting my nails I went to a little salon near work.  They asked if I wanted a gel manicure instead.  I said sure.  I’d give it a shot.  I had heard great things about them.  Immediately dry, long-lasting, it sounded great.  And it worked.  My nails were perfectly dry before I made it out of the chair.

I didn’t even come close to chipping or hurting the polish in any way over the next week.  It was actually a little unnerving.

And then, yesterday afternoon, I did something that chipped one of the nails.  So I thought… that’s it.  This stuff has to come off.  And being me, it had to come off immediately.

Only you really can’t take this stuff off yourself.  The girl said if I really wanted to I could soak a cotton ball in nail polish remover and then put the cotton ball on your nail and wrap the whole finger in aluminum foil.  Do this for all fingernails.  Then wait 30 plus minutes and the polish should come off.

Except it doesn’t really work that way.  After 45 minutes I still had to scrap the polish and gel off and I didn’t get all of the base coat.  But it was enough that I could wait for tomorrow and go into the salon to get the rest off.

Yeah – so I go in and the girl tells me that I wasn’t supposed to try to take it off.  She even said that the top two layers of my nails are coming off.

She then used her Dremel file on my nails to file off the last of the junk that was on them.

I get that I did not have the soak off gel.  I get that I had a knock off manicure.  But I learned a lot of lessons.

I do not want to have any kind of manicure that has that many steps to take off at home.  I should not have to go to a salon to remove my nail polish.  I’m too obsessive compulsive about it.

I would get one of these again after researching someone who is doing the real thing, not someone who is just jumping on the bandwagon.  But I would only get it for a special occasion and I would get it taken off no more than three days after the event.  I can’t deal with the change to my natural nails.  It was like acrylic nails all over again.

So there’s my tail…  It’s going to take a while to grow back nails that haven’t been filed down repeatedly.

Live and learn.

night

Leave a Reply

