Finding narative in the journey

January 15, 2012

I walked to El Cerrito today.  When I woke up I just thought it would be a good thing to walk instead of taking BART or a bus.

When I first left the apartment I noticed the clouds and the moisture in the air.  It was the feeling you get before it might rain.  (It didn’t rain but the feeling of hope in the possibility of rain was so perfect that it made the start of the day feel so fresh.)

On my way up Shattuck I saw a sign in a window…

I thought it was a great sign.  I took a picture and I continued on my way.

Then, as I walked through the Northbrae Tunnel, I began to see things in a different way.  It was as though I was seeing scenes from a story.  But no story I knew.  Maybe as story I will write.  Or perhaps one that will only ever exist in my head.  Or even a story that lives only for today and tomorrow it is gone forever like a dream you can’t hold on to.  But I was seeing the places that inspired the story from every angle.

Since I had my camera I took pictures.  That is no guarantee of a story.

But here are some of the photographs.

I’m telling you… there’s a story in there.  I just have to write it down.

night

Leave a Reply

