night fires

January 22, 2012

I was invited to a beach bonfire on Saturday by a dear friend at work.

I haven’t been to Ocean Beach in YEARS.  If you don’t count trips to the zoo then the last time I went to Ocean Beach… it was for Jeff’s Memorial.  Donuts, champagne and goodbyes.

This was not about goodbyes.  It was a party with someone else’s family.  There’s something fantastic about a party where you only know one person.  It’s so open to interpretation.  The only downside is that Jim’s wife Carol wasn’t there.  I so wanted to meet her… maybe next time.  Momma Collins invited me back for next year!

After I walked down to the beach and said another goodbye to Jeff, I hung out with Jim and was introduced to all kinds of awesome people, family and otherwise.  One of Jim’s brothers brews beer and soda.  I tried his root beer and ginger beer.  I must admit.  He’s good!

For dinner there was cioppino.  And seriously… words cannot describe how amazing this seafood stew was.  I want more.  I want it now.  You should be jealous of the mere IDEA of this cioppino.

But I must say the coolest thing was the fire.  And that’s not just the pyromaniac that lives inside by juvenile heart of hearts.

It’s been so long since I’ve had the chance to sit in front of an open fire.

The warmth, the crackle, the light.  It was amazing.  And I enjoyed every single second of it.

But then there was the extra added, vaguely, not exactly legal bonus of this…

It is illegal to burn a Christmas tree.  I’m not exactly sure why but I think it has something to do with the sparks.  Anyway you look at it, burning Christmas trees are insanely cool.  And maybe even more so when they don’t act like a torch like you want them too.

I’ve got to get out to the beach more often.  I love it there.  And it’s so beautiful.

Note to self… more trips to Ocean Beach in the new year.

Gung Hay Fat Choy

Leave a Reply

