When do you say no to an invitation?

January 30, 2012

A few times this month I’ve gotten these broad invitations to what seem like they should be personal parties but that are during work.

And I’m all for parties and honestly I like getting out of work as much as the next girl.

But at some point I thought it was appropriate to stop and think about the right and wrong of going to a retirement party for someone to whom I have never been introduced.  I could have gone under the heading of “we all work in the same office” but that felt wrong.  So I didn’t go.

I’m blaming it on this book.

Emily Post… that woman knew how to handle herself.  No matter what the situation.

That’s a skill that is worth developing.

I can tell it’s going to take me a lot of time to get any good at it but I think I’m going to give it a try.

night

Leave a Reply

