hooks and fiber

February 5, 2012

First of all… you have to see this amazing sculpture I saw at Urban Ore this morning…

Why yes, it is a flying pig.  There’s a mechanism that one of the employees showed me… you turn a crank and the wings actually flap.  Sometimes there is nothing cooler than a flying pig.  The guy said that they are going to hang it from the ceiling.  I’m so going back to see that.

So today I took a class at A Verb for Keeping Warm on San Pablo and Alcatraz.  If you have not been to this store you should go.  It’s so pretty.  And they will teach you to spin, knit, crochet, quilt, dye, felt, etc.  Today our teacher was Karen and she was lovely.  I knew how to make a chain but I didn’t know how to do anything else.  I didn’t understand the directions without some help.

Now look what I’ve done..

I’m rather proud of myself.  The yarn is Malabrigo Arroyo.  It’s so beautiful… all caramel, butterscotch, toffee.  And it was included in the class.

When the class was over I decided that yes… I really do want to take the Crochet Granny Squares Blanket.  Karen’s teaching that too.  Now if I could just finish the cowl that I’ve started before class I will be a happy girl.

I like crocheting.  I can handle one hook.  Two sticks (AKA knitting) just doesn’t work for me.  But crocheting, I might just get the handle of… if I just sit down and do it.

You should go check out A Verb for Keeping Warm and when you go, look out the back window.  They dye warn and try it on the patio.  The blue is my favorite.  It’s beautiful.

Have a creative week!

night

Leave a Reply

