The Pick-Up Party

February 12, 2012

Today was the Urban Legend Cellars Pick-up Party.  Marilee and Steve put out some wonderful food and all the available wines.  Plus this time there was a puppy – which was totally awesome.

I think Urban Legend is the only wine club I could ever deal with.  It’s low-key, you can pick up your wines, they are super friendly and they throw parties.  Oh and you can get there by bus or BART.  They make everything so easy and enjoyable.  Which makes you want to go back again and again.  It’s a fantastic cycle.

It doesn’t hurt that the wine is just lovely.

The coolest thing about the Pick-Up parties is that you can taste everything available.  So you get the opportunity to taste how certain wines are changing with age.  I liked the Teroldego before but now I think it’s amazing.  You can taste the fruit coming forward in the Barbera and the Syrah.  But there was something new so I just bought two bottles of the 2009 Undici which won’t be available to the public until April.  It’s 85% Sangiovese and 15% Cabernet Sauvignon from Amador County.  It’s wonderful.  I highly recommend it.  I recommend the wine club too.  I do wish that I had remembered my flip top bottle so I could have gotten a refill on my Uptown red table wine.

On my way home from the tasting I took this picture that sums up something but I’m not sure what… Maybe it says something but you get to decide what it says.

night

Leave a Reply

